NWT releases Aurora College Mandate Agreement outlining new tricameral governance system


The Government of the Northwest Territories has officially released the Aurora College Mandate Agreement. The agreement outlines shared strategic priorities, the college’s scope of activities, and measurements that the college will be expected to report on. Under the strategic priorities, NWT and the college will be pursuing the establishment of a polytechnic university, implementation of a tricameral governance system, the development of new programs, and more. The college’s new tricameral governance system–comprised of the Aurora College Board of Governors, the Academic Council, and the Indigenous Knowledge Holders Council–will reportedly see the institution operating at more of an arm’s-length from the government.