Seven universities become TRIUMF members


Seven universities have joined TRIUMF, which is Canada’s particle accelerator centre and includes 21 member institutions across Canada. TRIUMF reportedly hosts the largest accelerator of its type in the world. Researchers are currently collaborating on an experiment that examines whether neutrons violate a symmetry of nature. “TRIUMF’s key infrastructure is what makes this experiment possible,” said UWinnipeg Professor Dr Jeff Martin. “It’s a one-of-a-kind facility in the world where this experiment could be carried out.” The new full university members include McGill University, Saint Mary’s University, Université de Sherbrooke, the University of Northern British Columbia, the University of Waterloo, the University of Winnipeg, and Western University.