SK de-designates Russian postsecondary institutes from provincial student aid eligibility

The Government of Saskatchewan has announced that—effective immediately—students that wish to pursue PSE in Russia will not be eligible to receive Saskatchewan Student Aid. SK explained in its release that the move is aligned with the federal government’s recent decision to de-designate Russian postsecondary institutions and that it will help ensure that provincial funding does not go to any institutions or organizations that are subject to sanctions. “We want our students to receive high quality post-secondary education in safe, stable environments,” said SK Advanced Education Minister Colleen Young. CJWW reports that there are currently no SK students studying in Russia and receiving student aid.

SK | CKOM | CJWW Radio