Canada releases list of foreign organizations banned from federally-funded research partnerships

In an update to the Policy on Sensitive Technology Research and Affiliations of Concern, the Government of Canada has released a list of sensitive technology research areas and a list of research organizations from China, Iran, and Russia which could pose a risk to Canada’s national security. The sensitive technology research areas include biotechnology, advanced weapons, digital infrastructure, and human-machine integration. The National Post reports that researchers and research teams looking to study the topics named on the sensitive research areas list will not be able to access federal funding if they have an ongoing affiliation with an organization on the list.

Canada | National Post | Globe and Mail