Eight tropical institutions establish new “powerhouse” international league focused on SDGs


Eight tropical institutions are working together to establish a new organization that will advance higher education and socio-economic development in the tropical regions. The League of Tropical Universities (LTU) aims to become a “powerhouse of education and innovation globally” that will contribute to the UN Sustainable Development Goals through science-driven transformation. The LTU will include China’s Hainan University, the Chinese Academy of Tropical Agricultural Sciences, Cairo University (Egypt), Chulalongkorn University (Thailand), Bandung Institute of Technology (Indonesia), University of São Paulo (Brazil), University of Malaya (Malaysia), and Universiti Teknologi Petronas (Malaysia).

China Daily | University World News