Six more universities review honorary degrees awarded to Turpel-Lafond


More universities have announced that they are reviewing honorary degrees that they awarded to Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond. The Canadian Press reports that six universities – University of Regina, McGill University, Brock University, Royal Roads University, St Thomas University, and Mount Saint Vincent University – that have awarded Turpel-Lafond an honorary degree are now reviewing the situation. “We need to ensure that our children’s and grandchildren’s indigeneity will be respected and protected,” read a statement from the Indigenous Women’s Collective, which has called for the honours to be withdrawn.

Global News