Trent, Laurentian, Lakehead, Nipissing partner to enhance collaboration, research sharing


Trent University, Laurentian University, Lakehead University, and Nipissing University have formally agreed to share their resources, facilities, and expertise to drive the province’s economic development. The four universities signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to collaborate on research and commercialization support, knowledge sharing, access to professional expertise and advanced facilities, and ecosystem partnerships. The partnership will also receive funding from Intellectual Property Ontario (IPON) for the Northern and Rural Innovation Cluster pilot project. “The funding from [IPON] goes further with the four universities working together to invest the funding in a way that brings expertise, resources, and programming to each campus but all towards a unified goal,” said Trent Senior Director, Research & Innovation Christopher Rooney.