UWaterloo waives tuition for students from Six Nations of the Grand River, Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation


The University of Waterloo will waive tuition for all qualifying students who are members of the Six Nations of the Grand River and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. The university’s main campus is situated on the traditional territory of the two First Nations communities. “I believe Waterloo is the first university in Canada to waive tuition in full for members of specific First Nations communities, and I hope this demonstrated leadership will inspire other post-secondary institutions to take similar action,” said UWaterloo AVP, Indigenous Relations Jean Becker. The university will also offer Ontario domestic tuition rates to Indigenous students from elsewhere in Canada and the United States. For all First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students, the university will also continue to waive application fees.